Committee for Honorary Degrees and Commencement Speakers

- 1. The Committee for Honorary Degrees and Commencement Speakers will be appointed by the President that shall consist of at least four members of the faculty; the Deans of Arts, Culture, and Scientific Inquiry, Business, Education, Honors, Library, and Nursing; and one member from University Advancement. Terms for the faculty members shall be two years with alternating rotations such that half the faculty representatives change each year. The committee will be chaired by the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs or his/her designee.
- 2. This committee will meet in the fall semester to discuss recommendations for the conferral of honorary degrees and request for commencement speakers. In the previous spring semester, the Provost Office shall ask the university community for nominations of each. A nomination must be in the form of a letter supplemented by supporting material. The nomination letter shall explain the reasons for recommending the prospective candidate. The committee will complete its work by August 31st and submit no more than three (3) nominations for each to the President.
- 3. The University of West Georgia may recommend to the Board of Regents one honorary degree for each semester concluding with commencement. The recipient must be present to receive the degree.

4. Nomination Criteria

- a. Honorary Degrees. The basic criteria for an honorary degree recipient shall be notable achievement in an academic field, the arts and letters, the professions, or public service.
- b. Commencement Speakers. The basic criteria for commencement speakers shall be notable achievement in an academic field, the arts and letters, the professions, or public service, as well as an expectation of strong public speaking skills.
- 5. Each nomination recommended to the President will delineate the accomplishments of the nominee and define why the University of West Georgia should award an honorary degree to the nominee. Frequently the honorary degree recipient is also the commencement speaker, although they may differ.
- 6. Current elected or appointed officials of the state of Georgia (including Regents) to whom the University System and/or the universities are directly or indirectly answerable are ineligible for honorary degrees. The same exclusion applies to current elected or appointed national office holders and persons who are announced candidates for elective office in the state or nation. Current faculty members, administrative officers of the universities and the System, and other university and System employees are also ineligible; other special awards, such as institutional teaching or service awards, or emeritus titles, are the appropriate means of recognizing special achievements by such persons.